18 June 2018

From the Head of Senior School

Remembrance Day

Last Tuesday 11 November we celebrated Remembrance Day, as per tradition, with a ceremony involving the whole school. We welcomed Brigadier Phil White (OSC 1972) who addressed the school about the significance of the day and some of the Scotch College connections.

475 boys enlisted by the end of WWI, of which 104 were commissioned, 34 decorated for bravery and 78 boys and four staff members lost their lives. The names of those who paid the ultimate sacrifice were read out by Michael Silbert (President of the OSC), Year 12 leaders and Junior School students. These connections between the College and our OSC remain central to the Scotch College community and were again on display when Michael relayed a story from the previous weekend where he and his son Max (Year 11, Ross House) attended a memorial ceremony at Irwin Barracks which included the blessing of a plaque for a young Old Scotch Collegian, Edward Hawkins (OSC 1907 - 1910), who died aged 20 in Belgium, back in 1917. Unfortunately the School has been unable to locate any of Private Hawkins' remaining family at this stage and Michael and Max represented the College.

Pte Hawkins plaque

plague 2

The plaque was blessed and, along with seven of his comrades who were also killed in action, Private Hawkins will now have a plaque in King Park to help remember him. This has been an important project for the 109 Signal Squadron, as they make a point of ensuring that no soldier is left off the honour roll. I encourage everyone to look for Private Hawkins' name on this plaque in the future. They also presented Michael and Max with a plaque which will be presented to the School and will be on display with a photo of Private Hawkins.

'They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:

Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn

At the going down of the sun and in the morning

We will remember them.'

World War I Memorials


A.C. McKenzie J.D. Newham A. Cannell Matthew Scouler

Old Boys

Norman Andreas

Roy Dimant

Clifton Ick

Rupert Rabbish

John Angove

James Dreghorn

James Irvine

Ian Richardson

Raymond Angove

John Dunstan

George Klug

Edward Roberts

John Archibald

Frederick Egan

Norman Knox

Edward Ross

Lionel Barnett

George Fordyce

David Krug

William Ross

Leonard Barrett

Donald Forrest

William Lowe

William Rowley

Herbert Bateman

Clarence Foster

Harris McArdell

Matthew Scouler

William Bateman

Marshall Fox

John Manthorpe

Samuel Selby

Charles Birch

Harold George

Noel Maultby

Thomas Self

Mark Brady

Arthur Glover

Andrews Mills

John Shadwick

Frederick Burgess

Alan Goyder

Adrian Monger

John Short

Robert Burley

J Hardy

Harry Morley

Aguster Sinclair

Victor Cargeeg

James Hartung

Edwin Moseley

John Tassie

Roy Clifton

Edward Hawkins

Charles Nixon

John Turner

Harold Clinch

Douglas Hendry

Claude Noel

Robert Walker

Harold Colquhoun

William Hewby

Henry Palmer

William Watson

Reginald Cornish

Ernest Higham

Murray Pamment

Irwin Whitfield

John Crane

Malcolm Higham

Malcolm Paterson

Leslie Wilkinson

William Dawbarn

Percy Hird

William Pidgeon

Hilton Yelverton

Ian Dempster

Robert Holmes

Mr Peter Burt

Deputy Head of Senior School