26 November 2018

Boys' Achievements

Hugo Clegg (Year 10, Shearer), Charlie Castleden (Year 10, Stuart) and Benjamin Ledger (Year 10, Alexander) swam in a team of six (with three PLC girls) from Leighton beach to Rottnest. They won their race category, Juveniles aged 13-17, in a time of 6 hours 20 minutes.

Aaron Oughtibridge (Year 11, Brisbane) has been selected to represent Western Australia in the 2017 Water Polo team competing at the School Sport Australian National Championships in Noosa 21 - 26 May.

Sean Szalek (Year 11, Ross) won gold in U18 High Jump (2.04 metres) at Australian National Championships.

Lachlan Meston (Year 11, Ross) and Alistair Murray (Year 12, Brisbane) have been selected in the Western Australia U18 Hockey Team to compete at the National Championships in Hobart during April.

Oliver Harding (Year 12, Keys) has been selected in the Australian 16's Hockey Team touring Europe at the end of May.

Marcello Torre (Year 10, Cameron) won U19 champion at the 420 Sailing State Championships hosted at Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club. Marcello was 2nd overall.

Lewis Orr (Year 10, Ferguson) travelled to Queensland for the Somerset Writers Festival, where he was shortlisted for the Junior category of the Somserset National Poetry Prize, which he won!

Zaide Moxham (Year 9, Cameron) is representing the North Cottesloe Surf Life Saving Club at the Australian Surf Life Saving Championships 22 - 27 March 2017 in Queensland.

Jed Hood (Year 10, Ferguson), James Mardardy (Year 10, Stuart), Timothy Fleay (Year 9, Brisbane), Nicholas Verryn (Year 9, Alexander) and Max Freedman (Year 9, St Andrews) have been selected in the WA State U15 Hockey team to travel to Sydney in April for the National Championships.

Toby Dew (Year 9, St Andrews) was a silver medal in the National cross country criterium and came 7th in the National cross country mountain bike championship.

Congratulations to the Scotch College Touch Rugby team who came runner up in their competition.

Australian Mathematics Competition

In July last year about half of our Scotch community sat the AMC Maths Competition. While some of the competitors moaned and groaned, many excelled. Based on those results and a series of other competitions; approximately 100 students from across Australia are invited to attempt the Australian Mathematical Olympiad in February. We had three boys represent Scotch; Yuelin Shen (Year 12, Brisbane), William Steinberg (Year 9, Brisbane) and Daniel Wiese (Year 9, Keys).

On the back of those results William Steinberg has represented Australia in the junior category of correspondence Asian Pacific Mathematics Olympiad and over the Easter holidays both he and Dan will attend the AMOC Selection School in Sydney.

Have Sum Fun

Congratulations to the following boys who competed in the 'Have Sum Fun' Mathematics Competition:

William Steinberg (Year 9, Brisbane), Daniel Wiese (Year 9, Keys) and Sam Wake (Year 9, Brisbane) in Year 9 and James Jenour (Year 10, Brisbane), Joshua O'Dea (Year 10, Brisbane) and Liam Newport (Year 10, Shearer) in Year 10.

Swimming Age Champion Boys

In 2017 the Swimming Champion Boy awards will be selected using the following criteria:

  1. Number of points attained at the Inter-School Swimming Carnival
  2. Division of events that swimmer has competed in (Division 1 or 2)
  3. Place(s) achieved in the 200m races, School Age Championships, Quads and Inter-School Carnivals
  4. Number of events competed in
  5. Versatility of the swimmer
  6. Training attendance and attitude
  7. Contribution to the Swimming Team

U/15: Bailey Wright (Year 9, Ross)

U/16: Hugo Clegg (Year 10, Shearer)

U/17: Alex Porter-Wilkinson (Year 11, Brisbane)

OPEN: Lachlan Vos (Year 12, St Andrews)

Under 17 50m Butterfly Alex Porter-Wilkinson recorded a time of 28.58 at the PSA Inter-School Swimming which beat the school record he set at the Inter-House Swimming Championships earlier in the term of 28.63

Excellence in the Workplace Awards

Luke Gollan (Year 12, Keys)

Tremayne Green (Year 12, Keys)

Roko Radman (Year 12, Keys)

Certificate II in Business Awards

Jaimon Alone (Year 12, Keys)

Benjamin Anderson (Year 12, Cameron)

Lachlan Bird (Year 12, Anderson)

Fletcher Cumming (Year 12, St Andrews)

Luke Gollan (Year 12, Keys)

Tremayne Green (Year 12, Keys)

Luke Kielman (Year 12, St Andrews)

Jack Manners (Year 12, Stuart)

Harrison Nixon (Year 12, Keys)

Roko Radman (Year 12, Keys)

Levi Ross (Year 12, Keys)

Justin Weatherall (Year 12, St Andrews)

End-to-End Bibbulmun Track

Certificates have been presented to the following boys for completing the Bibbulmun Track:

Jakheen Coaby (Year 12, Keys)

Phillip Collard (Year 12, Keys)

Joe Dowling (Year 12, Keys)

George Gibson (Year 12, Keys)

Luke Gollan (Year 12, Keys)

Oliver Harding (Year 12, Keys)

James Hills (Year 12, Keys)

Nicholas Klug (Year 12, Keys)

Thomas Menzies (Year 12, Keys)

Lachlan Morrell (Year 12, Keys)

Roko Radman (Year 12, Keys)

Oliver Repton (Year 12, Keys)

Callum Willmott (Year 12, Keys)

Inter-House Cross Country Results





St Andrews